EMISSARY^7 (G²)

COMMISIONED by CHRIST 4 SHARING HIS LIFE/KEEPING IT REAL ADMIST THE LIES (II Cor. 5:17-21))

SEEK MY FACE (GOD’S): Teachings on the Presence of God by David Ravenhill

Posted by Gabriel (G²) on December 24, 2007

Psalm 16:11


You have made known to me the path of life; you will fill me with joy in your presence, with eternal pleasures at your right hand.Psalm 16

Psalm 21:6
Surely you have granted him eternal blessings and made him glad with the joy of your presence.

Psalm 21

Psalm 27

Of David.

1 The LORD is my light and my salvation—
whom shall I fear?
The LORD is the stronghold of my life—
of whom shall I be afraid? 2 When evil men advance against me
to devour my flesh, [a]
when my enemies and my foes attack me,
they will stumble and fall.

3 Though an army besiege me,
my heart will not fear;
though war break out against me,
even then will I be confident.

4 One thing I ask of the LORD,
this is what I seek:
that I may dwell in the house of the LORD
all the days of my life,
to gaze upon the beauty of the LORD
and to seek him in his temple.

5 For in the day of trouble
he will keep me safe in his dwelling;
he will hide me in the shelter of his tabernacle
and set me high upon a rock.

6 Then my head will be exalted
above the enemies who surround me;
at his tabernacle will I sacrifice with shouts of joy;
I will sing and make music to the LORD.

7 Hear my voice when I call, O LORD;
be merciful to me and answer me.

8 My heart says of you, “Seek his [b] face!”
Your face, LORD, I will seek.

Psalm 51:11
Do not cast me from your presence or take your Holy Spirit from me. (Psalm 51)

Psalm 84

1 How lovely is your dwelling place,
O LORD Almighty!

2 My soul yearns, even faints,
for the courts of the LORD;
my heart and my flesh cry out
for the living God.

3 Even the sparrow has found a home,
and the swallow a nest for herself,
where she may have her young—
a place near your altar,
O LORD Almighty, my King and my God.

4 Blessed are those who dwell in your house;
they are ever praising you.
Selah

5 Blessed are those whose strength is in you,
who have set their hearts on pilgrimage.

6 As they pass through the Valley of Baca,
they make it a place of springs;
the autumn rains also cover it with pools. [b]

7 They go from strength to strength,
till each appears before God in Zion.

8 Hear my prayer, O LORD God Almighty;
listen to me, O God of Jacob.
Selah

9 Look upon our shield, [c] O God;
look with favor on your anointed one.

10 Better is one day in your courts
than a thousand elsewhere;
I would rather be a doorkeeper in the house of my God
than dwell in the tents of the wicked.

11 For the LORD God is a sun and shield;
the LORD bestows favor and honor;
no good thing does he withhold
from those whose walk is blameless.

12 O LORD Almighty,
blessed is the man who trusts in you

Exodus 33:5-25

5 For the LORD had said to Moses, “Tell the Israelites, ‘You are a stiff-necked people. If I were to go with you even for a moment, I might destroy you. Now take off your ornaments and I will decide what to do with you.’ ” 6 So the Israelites stripped off their ornaments at Mount Horeb.

The Tent of Meeting

7 Now Moses used to take a tent and pitch it outside the camp some distance away, calling it the “tent of meeting.” Anyone inquiring of the LORD would go to the tent of meeting outside the camp. 8 And whenever Moses went out to the tent, all the people rose and stood at the entrances to their tents, watching Moses until he entered the tent. 9 As Moses went into the tent, the pillar of cloud would come down and stay at the entrance, while the LORD spoke with Moses. 10 Whenever the people saw the pillar of cloud standing at the entrance to the tent, they all stood and worshiped, each at the entrance to his tent. 11 The LORD would speak to Moses face to face, as a man speaks with his friend. Then Moses would return to the camp, but his young aide Joshua son of Nun did not leave the tent.

Moses and the Glory of the LORD

12 Moses said to the LORD, “You have been telling me, ‘Lead these people,’ but you have not let me know whom you will send with me. You have said, ‘I know you by name and you have found favor with me.’ 13 If you are pleased with me, teach me your ways so I may know you and continue to find favor with you. Remember that this nation is your people.” 14 The LORD replied, “My Presence will go with you, and I will give you rest.”

15 Then Moses said to him, “If your Presence does not go with us, do not send us up from here. 16 How will anyone know that you are pleased with me and with your people unless you go with us? What else will distinguish me and your people from all the other people on the face of the earth?”

17 And the LORD said to Moses, “I will do the very thing you have asked, because I am pleased with you and I know you by name.”

18 Then Moses said, “Now show me your glory.”

1 Chronicles 16:11


Look to the LORD and his strength; seek his face always.

Psalm 27:8

My heart says of you, “Seek his face!” Your face, LORD, I will seek.

Psalm 27:7-9 (in Context) Psalm 27

Psalm 105:4

Look to the LORD and his strength; seek his face always.

Psalm 105:3-5 (in Context) Psalm 105 (Whole Chapter)

Psalm 132:3-5

3 “I will not enter my house
or go to my bed-4 I will allow no sleep to my eyes,
no slumber to my eyelids,5 till I find a place for the LORD,
a dwelling for the Mighty One of Jacob.”Psalm 132

With that said, here are some clips from one of the revivalists that I really enjoy listening to. His name is David Ravenhill (whose father is a man by the name of Leonard Ravenhill……..) and the man’s very much an inspiration to me regarding seeking after the Lord/experiencing the prescence of God in one’s life.

On the issue of Habitation and Visitation. This one deals with the issue of how Prayer revolves around our needs; praise revolves around the answers to our prayers, but worship revolves around God alone. God is worthy of thanksgiving and worship, not for anything else, but simply for Who He is. He has an eternal longing to dwell with His people and desires not just to visit us but to establish His throne in every aspect of our daily lives. «”

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-6297965206574545905&q=David+Ravenhill&total=5&start=0&num=10&so=0&type=search&plindex=2

On the issue of The PRESENCE OF GOD

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=5873963754155474854&q=David+Ravenhill&total=5&start=0&num=10&so=0&type=search&plindex=3

This sermon deals with the issue of how “Man commonly focus on the parts rather than the whole. As such, there is a tendency for Christians to over-emphasize a particular truth rather than the whole counsel of God. All these truths are found in the Person of the Lord Jesus Christ. The thing that sets us apart from the world is the Presence of God in our midst, and it is His Presence that we should seek after. Let it not be said of us as it is in Job 26:14 that “these are parts of his ways: but how little a portion is heard of him?

Now, before procedding, allow me to clarify some things.

Though the Lord’s prescense is always with us, I do believe that are there things around us and done by us that can place Him at distance with us, and thus more vunerable to deception being wrought upon us.

Also, I do believe that there are things we can do which can usher in God’s presecence.

For good study material on the subject, go here:

http://www.sovereigngracestore.com/ProductInfo.aspx?productid=A2245-04-51

http://www.jrodmanwilliams.net/

http://www.presence.tv/cms/cov-presenceofgod-01.php

http://www.erwm.com/Experiencing_God_by_Anton_Bosch.htm (on the negative aspects regarding how many approach the Lord based on SEEKING AN EXPERIENCE and YET NOT BEING CHANGED, or TREATING IT LIKE ENTERNTAINMENT…AND THOUGH I didn’r agree with everything it stated, there were many good parts I was thankful for)

http://mymiscellanies.blogspot.com/2006/08/gospel-motivations-emotions-and.html

http://cicministry.org/commentary/issue97b.htm 

For example, Scripture tells us to come into His presence with singing:

“Worship the Lord with gladness; come before Him with joyful songs. (Psalm 100:2)

“Speak to one another with psalms, hymns and spiritual songs. Sing and make music in your heart to the Lord. (Ephesians 5:19)

Music can usher us into God’s presence, as seen in 2 Kings 3:15. Elisha was addressing the King of Israel when he said: “ ‘But now bring me a harpist.’ While the harpist was playing, the hand of the Lord came upon Elisha….”

While music is a way of ushering in God’s presence, it is not a magic button that can be pushed to make God’s people worship. The Latin word for praise is “value” or “price.” Thus, we praise God to proclaim His worth. “Praise” is our response to His person, but “worship” is our response to His perceived presence.

In my understanding (as well as my experience), Scripture teaches that God is everywhere; nobody can hide from him (Psm. 139:7-18). But his presence is more than that. It includes God’s commitment to us.The “I AM” (Ex. 3:14) says “I will be with you” (3:12). The Lord promises to be with Israel as he delivers them from slavery. So he takes a people to be his own: “I will be your God, and you shall be my people” (see Gen. 17:7, Lev. 26:12, 2 Cor. 6:16, Rev. 21:3-4). They become his family. Sometimes singles out his own people for special judgments (Amos 3:2); but the Lord’s main purpose is to bless his people– beyond anything they can imagine.The chief blessing is the Lord’s own presence. He was with Israel in the tabernacle and in the fiery cloud that led them through the wilderness. After they sinned, the Lord offered to let them go to the promised land without him. Moses protested, “if your presence does not go with us, do not send us up from here” (Ex. 33:2, 15). God relented and went with them. Canaan, with all its milk and honey, would have been worthless without the Lord himself.All this is fulfilled in Jesus. He is “God with us,” “Immanuel” (Isa. 7:14, Matt. 1:23). He is God’s tabernacle with his people (in John 1:14, “dwelled” means “tabernacled”). When Jesus died, God did not leave us; rather, he was with us in the most profound way: bearing our sins, bringing us perfect forgiveness. So if you know Jesus as your Savior and Lord, God is with you always, to the very end of the world (Matt. 28:20).

Concerning the notion of His presence being in a certain location, what to make of what the Word describes as the Manifest presence of God?The Holy Spirit is always present with us, because as God, He is omnipresent. He is especially present with us as believers, because Jesus having gone to the Father has sent us the Comforter, the Holy Spirit.

However, we see in Scripture a third way in which the Spirit is present.

In the words of another, “The Bible talks about the “manifest presence” of the Holy Spirit….and I believe that the experience of the early church is to be our experience. Jesus promised that His disciple would be witnesses “when the Holy Spirit” comes upon you.

Many people get hung up on the Primary Pentecostal experience of Acts 2 and look to that experience as being normative. However if you look at the Book of Acts you will find that the Holy Spirit fell on the same group of disciples on several occasions and each time there were different manifestations of the Spirit’s presence. What was common was this . . . when the Holy Spirit showed up with power, the people knew it because there where signs of his presence in time and space. The disciples were filled with power for the proclamation of the gospel and radical Christian living (Acts 1:23-31, Acts 4:23-31for example).”

a few more Biblical examples of the “manifest presence” of God:Ex. 34:30(f.) — Moses’ face supernaturally shines
Lev. 9:24; 1 Kg. 18:38; 1 Chr. 21:26 — Fire from heaven consumes sacrifices

1 Sam. 19:18-24 — King Saul and his antagonistic men are overcome by the Holy Spirit and prophesy as they near the camp of the prophets

1 Kg. 8:10,11 — The priest couldn’t stand because of Gods glory

Dan. 8:17; 7-10, 15-19 — Daniel fell, had no strength, terrified by Gods presence

Jn.18:6 — Unbelieving guards thrown to the ground

Acts 4:31
After they prayed, the place where they were meeting was shaken. And they were all filled with the Holy Spirit and spoke the word of God boldly.

Acts 9:4 — Saul of Tarsus saw brilliant light, thrown from his horse, heard Jesus audibly, was temporarily struck blind

Acts 10:10, 21:1 — Peter and Paul fall into trances and see and hear into the spirit world

Jn.18:6 — Unbelieving guards thrown to the ground

Acts 9:4 — Saul of Tarsus saw brilliant light, thrown from his horse, heard Jesus audibly, was temporarily struck blind

Rev. 1:17 — John fell as dead, had no bodily strength, and saw and heard into the spirit world

Rev. 1:17 — John fell as dead, had no bodily strength, and saw and heard into the spirit world

There are more examples besides this, but these are what I know of. For those wondering how to tell when it is a genuine move of God or one being “worked up”, I’m reminded of what Jonathan Edwards once said on the subject.

Jonathan Edwards referred to five tests to determine if a manifestation is a true work of the Holy Spirit. He states that Satan cannot and would not, if he could, generate these kinds of things in people.

If we can answer “yes” to one or more of these questions, then it is to be regarded as genuine despite any “little objections, as many (people) make from oddities, irregularities, errors in conduct, and the delusions and scandals of some professors (people who claim to be believers)” (i.e. some “human mixture” does not invalidate a general work of true revival, in fact, some should be expected).

1.Does it bring honor to the person of Jesus Christ?

2.Does it produce a greater hatred of sin and a greater love for righteousness?

3.Does it produce a greater regard for Scripture?

4.Does it lead people into truth?

5.Does it produce a greater love for God and man?

For more information, please go here:

http://www.passionforjesus.org/godsmanifestpresence.htm

Again, those are just some of the things one can do to test things out. It should be noted that Jonathan Edwards, regarded to be one of the greatest theologians of history, lived during the time of the Great Awakening in America in the 1730’s and 1740’s. Edwards provides the most thoughtful and comprehensive biblical evaluations, reflections and writings about the manifestations of the Spirit. (Taken from A Narrative of Surprising Conversations and the Great Awakening, Vol 4 of The Works Of Edwards)

“It was very wonderful to see how person’s affections were sometimes moved — when God did as it were suddenly open their eyes, and let into their minds a sense of the greatness of his grace, the fullness of Christ, and his readiness to save…Their joyful surprise has caused their hearts as it were to leap, so that they have been ready to break forth into laughter, tears often at the same time issuing like a flood, and intermingling a loud weeping. Sometimes they have not ben able to forbear crying out with a loud voice, expressing their great admiration” (Narrative pp. 37-38)“…some persons having had such longing desires after Christ or which have risen to such degree, as to take away their natural strength. Some have been so overcome with a sense of the dying love of Christ to such poor, wretched, and unworthy creatures, as to weaken the body. Several persons have had so great a sense of the glory of God, and excellency of Christ, that nature and life seemed almost to sink under it; and in all probability, if God had showed them a little more of himself, it would have dissolved their frame… And they have talked, when able to speak of the glory of Gods perfections” (Narrative p. 45)“It was a very frequent thing to see an house full of outcries, faintings, convulsions and such like, both with distress, and also with admiration and joy.” (The Great Awakening p. 547)“many in their religious affections being raised far beyond what they ever had been before; and there were some instances of persons lying in a sort of trance, remaining for perhaps a whole twenty-four hours motionless, and with their senses locked up; but in the meantime under strong imagination, as though they went to heaven, and had there a vision of glorious and delightful objects.” (The Great Awakening p. 550)

Hopefully, this’ll do for now……but

Pray that something in there blessed someone…..and that it aids you in their walk with God.!!!!!!
«”

Leave a Reply

 
