EMISSARY^7 (G²)

COMMISIONED by CHRIST 4 SHARING HIS LIFE/KEEPING IT REAL ADMIST THE LIES (II Cor. 5:17-21))

BLACK & REFORMED MINISTRIY PODCASTS

Posted by Gabriel (G²) on December 5, 2007

If anyone has heard of sound theology in Black Churches as the norm, most likely you’d be scoffed at. It’s not something that tends to define much of the Black church today.

But that’s about to change. One of my dear brother, LIONEL WOODS (of “BLACK & REFORMED” Ministries”) has taken the time to post some podcasts on his site that involved churches which were Black & yet TAUGHT SOUND THEOLOGY in their ministries. Being Black Hispanic myself, I cannot say how much of a blessing it was to hear of it. If anyone’s interested, you can go here to the site to listen.

http://blackandreformedministries.com/2007/12/05/new-feeds-on-sidebar-black-reformed-sermons-to-feast-on/#respond

Also, I’ve taken the time to paste them here at my site as well:

Pray it blesses someone out there…….and please check out Brother Woods/Tyris’s site…

15 Responses to “BLACK & REFORMED MINISTRIY PODCASTS”

  1. […] BLACK & REFORMED MINISTRIY PODCASTS […]

  2. If anyone has heard of sound theology in Black Churches as the norm, most likely you’d be scoffed at. It’s not something that tends to define much of the Black church today.

    Have you considered that, if anyone has heard of sound theology in Churches as the norm, most likely you’d be scoffed at. It’s not something that tends to define much of the church today.

    Notice, with no racial distinction, the statement holds true.

  3. Could you clarify for me, Brah?

  4. Perhaps you can clarify for me the need to quantify a message that applies to the entire church as “Black”?

  5. Also, please clarify for me why the issue is “Black”?

    As I’ve noted in my earlier comment without racial distinction your statements would be valid. So why place a racial distinction on a matter relating to the House of God, when it applies for the whole house? Perhaps if we were back in a time when say the churches in Corinth had some issues that perhaps churches in another area were not having we could be a bit more isolated in terminology, but why brand a message “Black”? Why does the work of God need your racial classification?

    Should theologians of times past have labeled their writings and sermons “White” if they were not “Black”?

    Can you please clarify for me?

  6. The reason the post was entitled “Black & Reformed” was because (1) That was the name of the site where I got the podcasts from (Mr.Lionel Woods & Tyris Horton) and (2)Reformed Theology is predominately something that not many Blacks are intimately familar with as with those within white communities (such as people like John Macarther, John Piper, C.J Mahanney, Joshua Harris, etc). In all honesty, the majority of Blacks are involved within the Charismatic realm (which is cool to a degree) but more often than not there’s moreso a focus on EXPERIENCE than SOUND KNOWLEDGE…..and in these podcasts, many of them are Reformed yet Black as well (which is rare)

    In any case, not much has changed in Corinth (IMHO)…..for there are many cases where churches of a paticular ethnicity, whether black/white or other, are dealing with issues where other churches in another area are not dealing with. Heck, even with the seven churches in Revelation, it’d seem that the issue is clear that not all churches are on the same wavelength.

    http://www.cicministry.org/commentary/issue86.htm

    Am I misreading you or coming off the wrong way?

  7. Of course, the GOSPEL CAN NEVER HAVE A COLOR LABEL ON IT, as it was made for ALL MEN/RACES!!!!

    Revelation 5:8-10

    8And when he had taken it, the four living creatures and the twenty-four elders fell down before the Lamb. Each one had a harp and they were holding golden bowls full of incense, which are the prayers of the saints. 9And they sang a new song:
    “You are worthy to take the scroll
    and to open its seals,
    because you were slain,
    and with your blood you purchased men for God
    from every tribe and language and people and nation.
    10You have made them to be a kingdom and priests to serve our God,
    and they will reign on the earth

    Revelation 7:8-10

    The Great Multitude in White Robes

    9After this I looked and there before me was a great multitude that no one could count, from every nation, tribe, people and language, standing before the throne and in front of the Lamb. They were wearing white robes and were holding palm branches in their hands. 10And they cried out in a loud voice:
    “Salvation belongs to our God,
    who sits on the throne,
    and to the Lamb.”

    Reformed, however, isn’t the Gospel…..but merely another way of viewing things that is highly benefical/missing from much of what’s seen in the Black Community–Specifically, the truths of sola fide (justification by faith alone), and sola Scriptura (Scripture alone as the sole infallible source of doctrine and authority)….AS WELL as good referencing to mighty men/women of God who really helped to shape the standard of godliness (i.e. Edwards, Murray, C.S Lewis, Brother Andrew, Oswald Chambers, John Buyan, etc).

    If interested, consider this book which better illustrates my point:

    http://www.ivpress.com/cgi-ivpress/book.pl/code=2827

    http://www.gnpcb.org/product/1581348274

  8. Just think of how it might look if Whites started putting racial labels on things. The racial labels are of no benefit. The 7 churches in Revelation were identified by their location.

    If the messages you linked above are of benefit to the church as a whole, they don’t need a racial marker. And if a message is not of benefit to the whole church, one must ask if the message is honestly rooted in scripture.

    The churches that are the sources of the messages are named as follows, according to your links above:
    Epiphany Fellowship
    Christ Liberation Fellowship
    First Baptist Grand Caymen
    Greater Union Baptist Church
    Soaring Oaks
    Gaithersburg Community Church
    Refreshing Springs

    None of them put a racial marker on their name.

    Really, racial classification of the Word of God is of no benefit. If someone comes to your site who is Black and hears the message, great, likewise if they are not Black. Reformed Theology is not something a lot of people are not familiar with, even people who might have seen someone like John Macarther on CNN. They really would not know of the details of Reformed theology from the limited time he’s provided to speak there.

    If I go to “Blog A” and they post “Hispanic and Reformed Podcasts”. Guess what the odds are that I’ll listen? Low. Because I’m not Hispanic and if there is a racial label the message obviously must be for Hispanics. I might even assume the messages are not even in English and I could be wrong. The racial labels create a mental barrier in the Body of Christ.

    Today, certain church groups are targeting certain isolated demographic groups that reside in the same area with other demographic groups, instead of whole areas, to reach the world and that is not the example we find in scripture, Colossians 3:11. If I am in Haiti running a Haitian ministry, it makes perfect sense, but if I’m in America running a racially isolated ministry it makes less sense and if I run a blog that is seen by the entire world… Hopefully this is making sense.

    I know even my own use of the term “Independent Conservative” might turn some people off. But given that, when posting things related to the church I’ve tried to avoid creating barriers. Am I a hypocrite in even bringing it up? I don’t know, but I’ve always tried to avoid making anyone feel the Word of God was for a particular race of people. Those churches did not use names that limit their message to a race, so best that they not be isolated because of their skin tone.

  9. You know what is funny IC, you always seem to have an answer to something you never asked a question about. Email Tyris and myself and you can find out what our motive is. If you think it is to raise barriers in which Christ came to die for your assumption is wrong. We built the site in order to target African Americans in order to introduce them to reformed theology. As Gabriel mentioned, most blacks don’t listen to Reformed pastors, because most of the Reformed pastors are white. Many blacks have problems going into an all white church, so the odds of them getting introduced to the rich theology of the Reformation is slim to none. However, it is much easier to introduce them to Reformed Theology if they believe they have something in common with the person presenting the information. Thus, the site was born. Furthermore, there are cultural issues that MacArthur, Piper, Mahaney, Sproul, Duncan, Lawson, and other reformed pastors don’t talk to. However, Wastson, Branch (Ambassador), Leach, Thabati, Carter, Lewis, and others talk to these issues because they not only experienced them, they are ministering in the neighborhoods in which this is occuring. When have you heard Piper or MacArthur speak to the ridiculous murder rate in Philly? How about lack of proper funding for inner city schools? How about racial profiling, which of these gentleman dealt with Jena 6, Katrina, the innumarable black male prison epidimic, broken homes, and drug infestation?

    IC, man you need to get out of here bro. You come across very arrogant and wise in your own assessment. So tell me, what church do you go to? I am curious to know what ministry you sit under?

  10. Email Tyris and myself and you can find out what our motive is.

    I think regardless of my thoughts on it, that you’ve explained why YOU do it on YOUR blog, I’m asking my brother Emissary/ Easy G (G²) his rational for keeping with it himself. I’m not against you guys, but I wanted to hear from Emissary/ Easy G (G²) on this one.

    However, it is much easier to introduce them to Reformed Theology if they believe they have something in common with the person presenting the information.

    Oh I’m sorry brother, I did not know you were Black when I saw your picture… The racial monikers only ensure if you have something of value to all people, that many who are not Black will feel it is not for them.

    Furthermore, there are cultural issues that MacArthur, Piper, Mahaney, Sproul, Duncan, Lawson, and other reformed pastors don’t talk to. However, Wastson, Branch (Ambassador), Leach, Thabati, Carter, Lewis, and others talk to these issues because they not only experienced them, they are ministering in the neighborhoods in which this is occuring.

    Well let’s just be glad that MacArthur, Piper, Mahaney, Sproul, Duncan, Lawson, and other reformed pastors don’t put the label “White” on their sermons.

    We agree there are at times cultural matters that need to be addressed. I just don’t think every or even MOST of what is being addressed falls in that category. I think the issues you mention are ones more than just Blacks experience.

    When have you heard Piper or MacArthur speak to the ridiculous murder rate in Philly?

    Is that not sin? Is the answer not Christ?

    How about lack of proper funding for inner city schools?

    Oh you mean those schools run by the government? I don’t hear most reformed ministers speak about school funding, because they realize saints should strive to do for one another instead of always seeking government’s solution.

    How about racial profiling, which of these gentleman dealt with Jena 6, Katrina, the innumarable black male prison epidimic, broken homes, and drug infestation?

    Racial profiling – Romans 13, if you don’t do anything wrong that cop pulling you over won’t find anything. Maybe you could use it as an opportunity to speak with them about Christ.

    Jena 6 – Perhaps someone should have told those Black kids not to nearly kill somebody.

    Katrina – Oh you think only Blacks have been trying to help people in need out?

    Blacks in prison, broken homes and drugs – These tie into 1 Timothy 5:8. But there are more than just Blacks with these issues.

    How come so many ministers who are Black (including every single one listed above) are able to address these without racial monikers for a title? We all have eyes, we can SEE you are Black. Everything you’ve mentioned impacts more than just Black people. But putting a racial moniker on the message ensures nobody else who might otherwise offer assistance will listen.

    We’re Black, we’ve heard sermons by the White men you named and found value in them, because of the message of Christ, not their race. Thank God they didn’t put a racial label on them or none of us might have listened.

    No I’m not getting out of here.

    I worship with an assembly of my choosing as led by the Lord. I know you wish to get more “personal” with things, but won’t grant you the opportunity. I sit under the Word of God, who I worship with today does not impact the matter at hand.

    If I wanted to discuss this with you, I would have contacted you.

  11. You are a funny dude IC. Keep doing what you do man. I pray that God see both of our works as fruitful as we desire them to be. The Gospel is our only motive and at the heart of that is sound theology and the correct doctrine. God bless and have a good holiday.

  12. I did not bring up this matter to cause strife between brethren. And to prevent strife I will make this my last comment.

    But I will note, that I was making web sites to target “Blacks” before the word “blog” existed, literally. I know that we reach a Black audience because of who we network with and who they network with. I know the racial monikers limit reach more than enhance it. Only took my years of running sites to realize this, but I’ll take my leave from this because as I’ve said I don’t desire to bring strife between brethren.

    I pray all offering the message of Christ reach as many as the Lord wills.

  13. Hey Bro IC

    No worries, Brah, about strife. Your comments were appreciated….

    If you’re still interested, I’d love to share with you my thoughts on the matter more in-depth. However, like I told you on your site, writing’s a bit of a struggle and communicating one on one is more efficient for me. So, if you’re cool, would you please consider emailing me your cell (my email’s on the “CONTACT” section of the site) so I could call you sometime?

  14. Thanks, by the way, Bro Lionel for the backup. Glad to see someone was feeling me (to a degree, at least) regarding where I was coming from…

  15. I will add, however, that my issue with the entire “Black & Reformed” podcasts is a bit more radical than most seeing that I grew up in a MULTI-CULTURAL CHURCH, where the pastor was WHITE, INTENTIONAL ABOUT SEEKING OUT MEMBERS OF DIFFERENT RACES/CULTURES to come to our church (which is why at one point, there was what the old skool kats have come to call “THE GREAT WHITE FLIGHT”, where NEARLY HALF THE CHURCH LEFT BECAUSE IT WAS PREDOMINATELY WHITE AND PEOPLE WERE NOT COMFORTABLE REACHING OUT……but praise God that the numbers doubled and we’ve made up for it……because of RACIAL MONIKERS, where the Pastor made clear that certain messages he was giving were specifically for issues paticular races were dealing with.

    Of course, he preached the GOSPEL…..but part of doing that is recognizing that RACE DOES MATTER/MAKES A DIFFERENCE. That was one of the things that actually drew my mom/I to the church…since the first message we heard of from him was on the issue of RACIAL RENCONCILLATION, what the Bible says about RACIAL ISSUES, and how BLACKS & WHITES NEED TO RELATE TO ONE ANOTHER according to Scripture.

Leave a Reply

 
